(1NT was 15-17)
a) do you pass in 2nd chair?
Furthermore, even if you play very sound openers and judge this to fall short, opening slightly light in second seat with lots of majors and concentrated values, especially when your opening bid is a good lead-director, has a lot to say for it. Note that partner might pass the hand out with a reasonably good hand lacking in majors.
Too bad I didn't open the hand to guarantee getting my spade lead. :-)
Steve and Curt disagree about the IMP odds. I agree with Steve. I'd guess that about 50% of the time, they are going down 1, so you win 2. About 35% of the time, they go down 2, so you win 5. About 10% of the time they make it, so you lose 5. About 5% of the time, they make because of the double (disaster!) and you lose 12. Net expectation is +1.65 IMPs. Obviously, those are really rough estimates, and in a match in which you are much the stronger team, it's probably bad because you want to avoid losing the big number, but most of the time, it's a net plus, I think. The chance of a redouble seems miniscule. LHO has to believe that trumps are breaking 5-0; he can't have good enough spots to think he can avoid losing two tricks. Once in a long time, he might've opened 1NT with 1444 shape, but the tap might beat him anyway. A bigger danger is that they run to 4NT, but I like my chances there.
a) do you agree with your actions so far?
Normal (?) bidding, then 3rd hand leads face up out of turn. Dummy puts his hand down. Everyone realizes that something has gone wrong and calls the director.
How would you rule?
If I had to guess, though, I'd guess that he just accepted for the partnership one of their options on the opening lead out of turn, and off we go.
[Note from 1998: This loophole has been mostly closed by the 1997 laws. If the director feels that the dummy could have known that putting his hand down was to his advantage, an adjusted score is given. --Jeff]